Mann's Jones Named Middle School Teacher of the Year


Mann's Jones Named Middle School Teacher of the Year
8/9/2013 3:16:48 PM

Stephanie Jones, the EAST Lab facilitator at Mann Magnet Middle School, was named Middle School Teacher of the Year for the Little Rock School District. Look inside for the full article from the LRSD site.

The following is printed with permission from the LRSD website.


Photo: From left: Nancy Morton, Elementary School Teacher of the Year; Shirley Ferguson, LRSD's Marian G. Lacey Educator of the Year; Stephanie Jones, Middle School Teacher of the Year; and Gladys Godley, High School Teacher of the Year.

“I feel that my greatest accomplishment is providing students with knowledge, seeing the sparks in their eyes when they gain that knowledge, and having the opportunity to witness them become viable members of society,” wrote the Little Rock School District’s top teacher for 2009. Shirley L. Ferguson, a language arts teacher at McClellan Magnet High School, was named the recipient of the Marian G. Lacey Educator of the Year award at the LRSD’s annual Crystal Awards banquet and awards presentation ceremony, held on May 4 at the Embassy Suites Hotel in Little Rock.

As this year’s top LRSD teacher, Shirley received an engraved crystal trophy, a check for $1,000, a Dell laptop computer and other gifts generously donated by local businesses.

A teacher since 1977, Shirley was certified by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards in 2006 and is a past recipient of the Stephens Award. She accepted the award from Dr. Marian G. Lacey, a long-time principal and Assistant Superintendent with the LRSD, for whom the award was named.

Shirley continued in her Crystal Award application to say, “I have had students to become teachers, actors, ministers, doctors, and renowned athletes. I even think it is noteworthy when I see one of my former students who is now married and enjoying a happy family life. No matter how minute, I have touched that student’s life in a positive manner, and that is a significant accomplishment.”

Three additional teachers also were recognized for their exemplary work in the past year. Nancy Morton, a curriculum specialist at Williams Magnet Elementary School, received the Elementary Teacher of the Year award. Stephanie Jones, the EAST Lab facilitator at Mann Magnet Middle School, was named Middle School Teacher of the Year. Gladys Godley, the JAG (Jobs for Arkansas Graduates) coordinator at McClellan Magnet High School, was honored with the High School Teacher of the Year award. (McClellan is the first school in the history of the Crystal Awards to have two winners in the same year.) Each of these three teachers received an art glass trophy, a check for $500 and an assortment of gift certificates donated by area businesses.

Dr. Joel Anderson, Chancellor of the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, was the Master of Ceremonies for this year’s event.

The LRSD thanks its generous sponsors for helping to make this evening possible: First Student (Presenting Sponsor); Friday, Eldredge & Clark (Silver Sponsor); IK Electric (Silver Sponsor); Little Rock Classroom Teachers Association (Silver Sponsor); Public Education Foundation of Little Rock (Silver Sponsor); Wittenberg, Delony & Davidson Architects (Silver Sponsor); Bank of the Ozarks (Patron Sponsor); and Coleman Dairy (Table Sponsor).

Local businesses that provided gifts or gift certificates include: Acadia Restaurant, Arkansas Repertory Theatre, Arkansas Times, Barbara Graves Intimate Fashions, Bosco’s, Cajun’s Wharf, Capers, Catering to You, ChaCha’s Sweetless Sweets, Copper Grill and Grocery, Cynthia East Fabrics, Dixie Restaurants Inc., Mid-America Science Museum, Middletown Hear and Air, Precious Baubles Jewelry, The Purple Cow Restaurant, Schickel’s Cleaners and Sportstop, Inc.

Outstanding educators from each school in the LRSD were honored at the banquet. They include:

Melissa H. Bearden - Otter Creek Elementary
Yvonne R. Bolden - Mann Magnet Middle School
Amy Brockway - Cloverdale Magnet Middle School
Jonathan Buford - Felder Academy
Rebecca Carr - Brady Elementary
Deborah Hansberry Camper - McClellan Magnet High School
Amy Cooper - M.L. King Elementary
Cleta Corballis - Western Hills Elementary
Jason Crader - Bale Elementary
Terrie A. Davis - Pulaski Heights Elementary
Margaret M. Dawson - Forest Park Elementary
Paula Doan - McDermott Elementary
Hope Douglas - Terry Elementary
Angela K. Doyne - Geyer Springs Elementary
Shirley L. Ferguson - McClellan Magnet High School
Todd Ferguson - Mabelvale Magnet Middle School
Carolyn Geffken - Henderson Magnet Middle School
Gladys K. Godley - McClellan Magnet High School
Susana Grafals Frias-Smith - Parkview Magnet High School
Kaylin Nicole Griham - Watson Intermediate
Gerald L. Harper - J.A. Fair Magnet High School
Shelia Hudson - Hall High School
Ann Inman - Romine Elementary (voted posthumously)
Marilyn K. James - Baseline Elementary
Christy Jenkins-Strong - Cloverdale Magnet Middle School
Stephanie R. Jones - Mann Magnet Middle School
Anna M. Kennedy - J.A. Fair Magnet High School
Connie S. McCann - Hall High School
Gwendolyn Hall Marshall - Henderson Magnet Middle School
Tracy Mason - Mabelvale Magnet Middle School
Nate Melson - Rockefeller Elementary
Marie C. Mendillo - Parkview Magnet High School
Erma Dean Miller - Dunbar Magnet Middle School
Melinda Modica - Meadowcliff Elementary
Elizabeth Morris - Jefferson Elementary
Nancy Morton - Williams Magnet Elementary
Antoinette Mims - Dunbar Magnet Middle School
Joann Norris - Wilson Elementary
Boyce N. Pearson - Dodd Elementary
Cara Lynn Penn - Fulbright Elementary
Shannon R. Pinkerton - Mabelvale Elementary
Shawn Regan - J.A. Fair Magnet High School
Mike Reynolds - Hamilton Learning Center
April Rike - Central High School
Tina Ross - Fair Park Early Childhood Center
Juanita Scroggins - Wakefield Elementary
Martha Sellers - Washington Magnet Elementary
Tianka Sheard - Booker Magnet Elementary
Holly Shields - Carver Magnet Elementary
Annice Steadman - Central High School
Kenneth H. Sutton - Forest Heights Middle School
Yvette Thompson - Pulaski Heights Middle School
C. Michael Tidwell - Parkview Magnet High School
Twyla Troutman - Woodruff Elementary
Anne M. Virden - Pulaski Heights Middle School
Sharon Renee Sims Walker - Stephens Elementary
Ruthie Walls - Hall High School
Cindy Graham Whitaker - Chicot Primary
Clarissa Denise White - Franklin Elementary
Jennifer Jill White - Gibbs Magnet Elementary
Charlotte Watson - Hamilton Learning Center
Jeannie R. Watson - Forest Heights Middle School
Carla L. Wilkins - Metropolitan Career-Technical Center
Bettye F. Williams - Central High School
Evelyn Elaine Woods - Accelerated Learning Center

As their school’s Teacher of the Year for 2009, each honoree received a personalized etched glass trophy.

Nominations for the school-level awards were accepted from peers, parents or students. Voting took place via a secure LRSD intranet portal, and only employees at the nominee’s school were able to vote - one time only - for their choice.

To read the article online, visit




Welcome, Guest