New Faces, New Places -- Welcome the new members of the EAST Family


New Faces, New Places -- Welcome the new members of the EAST Family
9/28/2011 4:04:19 PM

The new school year has started and with it comes new EAST facilitators and programs in over 200 schools! EAST welcomes all the new facilitators and students and wish them good luck this school year.

By now, the back to school newness has worn off, routines have been established for stability, and students are engaging in real world learning. Students in 205 schools nationwide are offered EAST courses this year with programs in the following states: 198 Arkansas programs, 1 California program, 1 Iowa program, 1 Louisiana program, 3 Oklahoma programs, and 1 Pennsylvania program. Join us in welcoming the newest members of the EAST family.


New facilitators

Alena McNew – Jessieville HS

Amy Johns – Fouke Schools

Annette Smith – Mansfield HS

Arrah Callahan – Malvern ES

Ashton Winkelmeyer – Gurdon HS

Bonnie Wimberly – Watson Chapel HS

Carie Maroon – Murfressboro HS

Carole Smith – Mt View HS

Carrie Dickinson – Kiamichi Technology Center – Talihina Campus, Oklahoma*

Catherine Walls – Mt. Vernon-Enola HS>

Courtney Harp – White Hall HS

Dennis Dewitt – Wilbur D. Mills HS

Erica Fouche – North Heights JHS

James Miller – Randall Lynch MS*

James Paul – North Pulaski HS

Jeff Risner – Joe T. Robinson HS

Jeri Shire – Joe T. Robinson MS>

Jim Billings – Russellville HS

Jo Lawson – West Fork HS*

Johanna Henderson – Sheridan HS

Jordan Frizzell – Star City MS

Josh Worthy – Sonora ES*

Kaylynn Holland – Lamar HS

Kelly Young – Greenwood HS

Kevin Liang – Hampton HS

Kristina Smith – Mineral Springs HS

Lindsey White – Dermott HS

Lisa Byrd – Cutter Morning Star HS*

Lisa Frady – Foreman HS

Mason Pyper – Southside HS, Fort Smith

Matt Thornton – Centerpoint HS>

Matthew Diffey – Mann Magnet MS

Melissa Burton – Prairie Grove HS

Melissa Lunsford – Hartford HS

Michael Jeffers – Eliza Miller JHS (formally Central HS, Helena)

Michael Nicolosi – Magnet Cove HS

Oscar Fuller – eSTEM Charter School

Paul Miller – Gardner ES*

Paula Cook – College Hill ES

Paula Nixon – Bald Knob MS*

Paulette Stephens – Dunbar Magnet MS>

Ragan Sutterfield – eSTEM Charter School

Randy Osnes – Farmington HS

Sharla Hartzell – Dover HS*

Whitney Patterson – North Little Rock HS, west campus


Program Transfers

Candy Riggan – Maumelle MS

Erica Gutierrez – Conway HS

Jeanne Roepcke – Batesville HS*

Prentice Dupins – Maumelle HS (formally Oak Grove HS)


*New program

>additional facilitator


In order to meet the growing needs of our programs we have expanded the EAST Program Support Team. Lisa Cook and Tami Baker are the newest members of the EAST Program Support Team but are not new to EAST. These ladies bring 8 years of EAST classroom experience with them to the Initiative. 


2011-2012 EAST Program Support Team

Jerry Prince, Senior Director of Program Services

Lisa Cook, Program Coordinator

Melanie Ridlon, Director of Training & Events

Melissa Gallegos, Director of Professional Development

Tami Baker, Program Coordinator

Tim Stephenson, Special Liaison for Program Support


From the inception of EAST, a support staff was formed to provide the local EAST program with ongoing direction for advancement. This is achieved in various facets to include: professional development for students, facilitators, and administrators; annual events which offers collaboration and celebration; grant programs; technical support; continuous mentorship; and assessment. This year a greater emphasis will be placed on assessment. A beta version of the Program Dashboard was introduced to the facilitators at Summer Seminar. The program dashboard is designed to provide facilitators and administrators annual program feedback. Be on the lookout for further updates as this evolves.


Important dates

Facilitator Phase II: October 3-4, October 5-6, or October 11-12

Facilitator Phase III: November 29-30, December 6-7, or December 8-9


Welcome, Guest