AETN to Air Student Films from Across Arkansas


9/12/2011 2:37:42 PM

Tonight, September 12 at 9:00 PM, student films will be showcased in "Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase 2011" airing on the Arkansas Educational Television Network.

CONWAY, Ark. (AETN) — The work of Arkansas's next generation of filmmakers will be showcased in “Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase 2011” airing on the Arkansas Educational Television Network Mondays, Sept. 5 and 12, at 9 each night.

“Student Selects”is an annual event that highlights the creativity and talent of the state’s kindergarten through 12th grade students. The program offers young filmmakers the opportunity to submit their film and video handiwork for possible broadcast on AETN, online viewing at www.aetn.organd screening at the Little Rock Film Festival. Four $2,500 scholarships, funded by the THEA Foundation, were awarded to graduating seniors in the following categories: screenwriting, directing, cinematography and editing.

Also featured in this year’s broadcasts are two short-form documentaries created through a new program in 2011, AETN’s Project VoiceScape. This program is funded through PBS and Adobe Youth Voices to help students learn the techniques and skills of documentary filmmaking.

Films to be featured Sept. 12 include:

  • “Quality of Opportunity,” a Project VoiceScape film produced by Little Rock Central High School National Historic Site Youth Leadership Academy.
  • “Life at Hamilton,” a Project VoiceScape film produced by William L. Hamilton Learning Academy in Little Rock.
  • Anti-Littering PSA, produced by Valley Springs High School.
  • “Tribute,”produced by Springdale High School.
  • “When the Doors Didn’t Open,” produced by Cabot High School.
  • “A Good Day,” produced by North Little Rock High School.
  • “A Beautiful Realization,” produced by Springdale High School.
  • “In Your Bubble,” produced by Dardanelle High School.
  • “Love is Eternal,” produced by Springdale High School.
  • “A College Carol,” produced by Har-Ber High School in Springdale.

September also marks the new 2011-2012 “Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase” eligibility period. Entry categories include, but are not limited to, documentary, narrative, animation and music videos. For a complete list of film credits and information about submission guidelines and entry deadlines, visit

“Student Selects”parts one and two will repeat Sunday, Oct. 2, beginning at 1:30 p.m.

“Student Selects”is part of AETN’s arts and culture initiative, which is designed to bring quality creative programs and opportunities to Arkansans.

The THEA Foundation is a nonprofit, public foundation founded in 2001 by the parents of Thea Kay Leopoulos, Linda and Paul David Leopoulos. The founders and Board of Directors have adopted the mission of carrying Thea’s legacy forward through advocating the importance of art in the development of youth through educational and promotional activities and to encourage individual participation in art through scholarship, partnership, and other programs.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) is Arkansas’s statewide public television network that enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. For more information, visit, or follow the AETN blog at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), and KETZ (El Dorado).




Welcome, Guest